Promise Me You’ll Always Remember: You’re Braver Than You Believe

grandpa and me

We lost my grandpa a year ago tomorrow. He was a great man and I miss him. This is what I said at his funeral last year:

Pooh was sitting with his head down when his friend Christopher Robin came over and sat down next to him.

“Pooh” he said. “Why are you so sad?”

“Because on Sunday I lost a very good friend.” Pooh said. “And I miss him.”

“Who was this friend?” Christopher Robin asked.

“My grandpa.” said Pooh.

“Grandpa’s are very good friends indeed, aren’t they Pooh?” Christopher Robin replied. ” I am very sorry you miss yours. But when you love someone that much, they stay right here with you.” he continued as he touched Pooh’s heart. “They are part of you who you are, and part of who you will be.  A good friend, a grandpa, that is what they become. Pooh, remember what you told me your grandpa said to you?”

” ‘If there is ever a tomorrow when we’re not together, you must always remember, you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even when we’re apart…. I’ll always be with you.’ ” (quote from AA Milne)

One of my earliest memories of my grandfather is sitting on his lap and hearing his Pooh stories. Through the years there were many other memories doing many other things. When I was young I thought that everyone had grandparents that were as involved in their life as mine were. It was only later that I realized what a rare and precious gift both he and my grandmother gave me with their love and their time.

From time to time, the question comes up: ” Who is your hero?” It has never taken me long to come up with the answer. My grandfather was, is, and always will be, my hero, my friend. He was a model to me of integrity, honesty, and character. He was a teacher, an educator, and an inspiration to me in my role working in education. He was a model to me of the head of a family, a loving husband, father, grandfather, and great-grandfather.  He was a living example for me of the love God has for us.  And I always knew, that as long as my grandfather was there, I would be taken care of.  As he leaves us, I am so glad that he knew that now I am standing on my own feet, and that I have tried to follow his example of living “a life well lived.” What a great and wondrous God we have that gave me such a grandfather.

” ‘We’ll be friends forever, won’t we Pooh? ‘asked Piglet. ‘Even longer.’Pooh answered.”

We’ll be friends longer than forever grandpa. I will miss you so.

promise me with me (From my brother and his wife this past Christmas)

One response to “Promise Me You’ll Always Remember: You’re Braver Than You Believe

  1. Pingback: This time of life passes quickly | Wings Like Eagles in the Desert: A Journey through the Wilderness of Chronic Illness·

Leave a Reply

