Stigma and Silence: Culture and Disability

Separate, but not equal. We, the disabled, still have to struggle to find a place in this world. Because the world is not made for us, and we shake up people’s foundations of what should be. We live in stigma and silence.

Image

STIGMA noun a mark of disgrace associated with a particular circumstance, quality, or person

History does not speak kindly of how those with disabilities were treated. Shunned, outcast, killed at birth, shunted into different schools. Not a part of the normal everyday world. A story that not only lacks justice, but also mercy. We live in stigma and silence.

Image

SILENCE noun complete absence of sound

Not speaking of something,  a people can pretend it doesn’t exist. Lack of acknowledgment denotes lack of existence. What does not exist can not touch a person, can not affect them. Then one does not have to fear becoming like them, because they are not real. We live in stigma and silence.

Image

I myself have struggled with speaking up about my fibromyalgia, my Interstitial Cystitis, my ADHD, my depression. I do have to fight with shame when I ask for reasonable accommodations. I consider myself to be an intelligent rational person, and I see no shame when I think of others asking for these accommodations, in fact, it is my job to help students get them. So why do I feel that way? Because we live in STIGMA and SILENCE.

3 responses to “Stigma and Silence: Culture and Disability

  1. Cheryl, this is a blog by my friend Cathy. Cathy also battles her body due to chronic illness. Her blog is one I think you will relate to and really enjoy. I am enjoying your words, thoughts, and postings. Thank you for putting yourself out there. I miss seeing your smile at Hopewell. Our kids miss your passion and compassion.

Leave a Reply

